Oh how things change!

This week I’ve found myself recognizing how much I’ve changed over the past five years. I still think of myself as a 20 year old kid, but when I think of all the changes, I realize I am, in fact, a 25 year old married woman with a toddler. Some of my favorite things now are things that I NEVER would have guessed five years ago that I would love them as much as I do. For example:

*I love and look forward to early mornings with my coffee, Bible and husband
*I love anything with avocados (that’s a big deal for this picky eater)
*I love running and am currently training for a full marathon, but I couldn’t even run 3 full minutes when I started
*I love my fixer-upper farm house in the middle of nowhere. Correction: in the middle of a town with a population of 357 people
*Im perfectly content being at the farmhouse with my little family and not even starting my car for at least 3 days in a row before I start going crazy and need an outing
*I love using power tools
*I actually enjoy milking the cow (occasionally :), having chickens that run loose, having horses and cows right outside my window, and watering my garden
*ok, I may not actually ENJOY driving the tractor but I love that I know HOW to drive a tractor and rake hay

I never could have predicted any of those new loves, but Im so thankful for the life I live and the people I get to live it with. I wouldn’t trade my time with Charleigh and Cody for anything in the world. With so many current plans and ideas up in the air right now, this week has been a great reminder that my God is still in control, that He knows me better than I know myself and He has a plan much better than mine to give me hope and future. The lyrics from “Me Without You” by TobyMac fit me perfectly…

“I’d be packing my bags when I need to stay
I’d be chasing every breeze that blows my way
I’d be building my kingdom just to watch it fade away
It’s true
That’s me without you”

I have a slight tendency to dream big, change my mind and plans a million time and expect everyone around me to not only keep up with my current scheme, but also support it. I’m thankful that with age is finally coming a little God-given discernment that my mom has been praying for over me with Philippians 1:9-10 since I was little:

“And this is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless for the day of Christ…”

Leave a Reply

